Celebrating Devi Navratri – Naivedyam to Offer, Colours to Wear & More…

This post is from 2014. I have a separate post for the Devi Navratri 2016: Colours to Wear, Naivedyam to Offer, and Alankaram.

Sharada Navratri or Devi Navratri is one of the most important festivals and is celebrated across almost all parts of India. These 9 nights/10 days (navratri = nine nights) are dedicated to various forms of the Devi or the Goddess.

On each of the 9 days, the Devi is worshipped in a different form. In Andhra Pradesh, one way of celebrating Navratri is to worship Navdurga or the 9 forms of Durga. There is a different naivedyam offered each day. I have used the information from the Kanaka Durga Temple in Vijayawada as the primary source for the naivedyam to be offered.

In addition, each day has a specific colour associated with it. This information I got on whatsapp. 🙂 I have combined the two to create the table shown below.

In addition, in most South Indian and Maharashtrian homes, married women invite other married women and offer “tamboolam”. Along with the taboolam, normally sundal is given as prasadam.



Form of the Devi to be Worshipped


Colour to Wear

25-09-2014Aaswayuja Suddha PadyamiSri Swarna Kavachalankrutha Devi
  • Halwa – Puri
26-09-2014Aaswayuja Suddha VidiyaSri Bala Tripura Sundari DeviGreen
27-09-2014Aaswayuja Suddha ThadiyaSri Gayatri DeviGrey
28-09-2014Aaswayuja Suddha ChavitiSri Annapoorna DeviOrange
29-09-2014Aaswayuja Suddha PanchamiSri Lalitha Tripura Sundari DeviWhite
30-09-2014Aaswayuja Suddha SasthiSri Mahalakshmi DeviRed
01-10-2014Aaswayuja Suddha SaptamiSri Saraswati DeviRoyal Blue
02-10-2014Aaswayuja Suddha Astami

Sri Durga Devi

Sri Mahishasura Mardhini Devi

03-10-2014Aaswayuja Suddha Navami & Dhasami (Vijaya Dasami)Sri Rajarajeswari DeviMaha Naivedyam including: